The sky is falling!

Standard

And it was beautiful.

Tonight around midnight the Geminid meteor shower started. I was so excited, but didnt think it would be so damn cold.  when I first went out, like the second I  walked out my door  I saw three meteors flying across the sky. I may have squealed a bit.  I had one jacket on, it was thick so I thought it would do the job. The first hour ( midnight to 1am) I saw 9 meteors. I was laying on my truck bed, and I realized I couldnt feel my fingers, so I emailed my dad to ask if he had any gloves. I didnt want to go inside and risk missing this beautiful spectacle. But I couldnt stand my frozen, numb fingers. So I ran inside and asked him for gloves. And another jacket. lol which I put on top of my jacket I was already wearing. zipped them both up and put BOTH hoods on. I then went back outside to get the gloves from the truck. I was still freezing so I started dancing in my driveway to circulate some blood. thankfully it was 1am, and all of my neighbors were asleep. once I was a little warmer I layed back on the truck. the second hour I saw 37 meteors. Each time I saw one dance across the sky I gasped and smiled.

Looking up at the stars is a form of meditation. If you ever feel completely overwhelmed with your life, just stop and watch the stars. Because all of the crap you were stressing about feels so small and trivial when you see that beauty. Humans argue over who’s man made gods are the real ones. But the real gods/goddesses are in the sky above us. Those stars are our creators, there are parts of them inside of our DNA. We come from them. Looking up at the blanket of gods, watching the meteors dance across the sky, that is our heaven. Nothing here matters. not money, not the law. Just love, and harmony with the earth we stand on, and worship for  the gods above us.

I ended up feeling so cold again, because I hadnt moved in almost an hour. by the time 2am hit. ( which was the showers peak time) i had seen about 46 meteors. And I told myself that I would stay out there until I saw 50, and then I would go warm up.

A few of the meteors came close into our atmosphere. they were so bright. I thought one of them was going to crash into earth.

I also saw  few planets and some of my favorite constellations tonight as well.  first of all was Jupiter. my goddess she was so bright tonight. I also saw mars, the little red star sat around the big dipper.  I saw the constellation Antares, which thrilled me because it reminds me of Antar, from my favorite TV show Roswell.  I think I saw Pleiades as well but im not too sure.

Tonight’s shower inspired me so much. I have a new book idea, a children’s book.  Ill be hand painting the illustrations. I wish I had my camera already, because I could have taken some really stunning photos of tonight.

Anyway, I came in and sat in front of the heater, I just finished a bowl of hot soup, and Im feeling so tired. I think this is the earliest ive gone to bed in a long time. I feel so content, my heart, mind and spirit are all in harmony after tonight.

all in all I saw 50 meteors in two hours. earthsky.org said it was supposed to be 50 an hour, but I live where there is a lot of light pollution. but im grateful for the ones I saw.

do good, be kind, spread love.

cici

Leave a comment